The United Nations in Rwanda

The United Nations system in Rwanda consists of 22 UN agencies, programmes, and funds, both resident and non-resident.

Since the Genocide against the Tutsi in 1994, the UN system has been a fundamental partner in the reconstruction of Rwanda. Since 2008, they have been delivering as one: ‘One UN’. This means: one leader – the UN Resident Coordinator; one budget; one programme – the five year Development Assistance Plan (UNDAP II); and one voice. ‘One UN’ capitalizes on the strengths and comparative advantages of the different UN agencies in the UN system and calls for coordinated endeavors for achieving the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to Transform Our World that were set out in Agenda 2030.

Between 2018-2023, the One UN Rwanda has budgeted around US$631 million to assist the country in its development.

A mother and child in one of the Green Villages supported by UNDP


  1. With UN support, the e-Regulations platform was implemented. It enhances effectiveness of Rwanda’s institutional and legal frameworks by availing an online platform that provides access to basic information and training content for Small and Medium Size Enterprises (SMEs). 
  2. The UN supported the National Institute of Statistics of Rwanda (NISR), NGOs and Civil Society Organizations in the publication of seminal studies. These included: the fifth Rwanda Demographic and Health Survey (RDHS), Governance Barometers and Citizen Report Cards on access to public services.
  3. The UN helped to strengthen communication streams and citizens’ voice through (1) facilitating dialogue and outreach, (2) overseeing various parliamentary committees and (3) developing the capacity of the local media.
  4. Support given to Data for Development strengthened a new generation of data for evidence-based policy making. This included the Population & Housing Census 2012, DHS 2014/15, EICV 2013/14 and domestication of the Sustainable Development Goals.
  5. The UN oversaw the construction of three additional district Early Child Development (ECD) model centres. This brings the total to 17 centres across 16 districts, including one in Mahama refugee camp. More than 13,000 children were reached through UN supported centre-based, home-based and home visitation ECD programmes. In addition, 11,000 parents/ caregivers were capacitated.
  6. The UN established the Innovation Accelerator (iAccelerator) - a mentorship-driven programme. It supports young entrepreneurs with seed funding, training and skills development in order to generate innovative and technological solutions to respond to the challenges faced in terms of sexual and reproductive health.


Back in 2018, the United Nations System in Rwanda signed with the Government of Rwanda the United Nations Development Assistance Plan (UNDAP II) that will cover the period 2018-2023.

This plan sets out the areas of collaboration with the national development agenda in Rwanda. Delivering on UNDAP II will be a coordinated effort between agencies, all operating under the umbrella known as ‘One UN’.

The UNDAP 2018-2023 is informed by - and responds to - global and regional normative frameworks, such as: the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development; the African Union Agenda 2063; and the East African Community (EAC) Vision 2050. It is also guided by thematic conventions and mandates of specific UN agencies.

The Government of Rwanda developed the Medium-Term National Strategy for Transformation (NST1) which focuses on three pillars:

a) Economic Transformation, 

b) Social Transformation, and

c) Transformational Governance.

Developed in alignment, the new UNDAP 2018-2023 supports the NST1. In doing so, it firmly establishes One UN’s strategic and operation support to the national priorities of Rwanda.

The role of the One UN in Rwanda is becoming increasingly important, and the One UN and its Partners consider the United Nations Country Team (UNCT) to be a key strategic partner and playing a vital role in supporting Rwanda’s Vision 2050 and the NST1. A critical part of UN’s role in Rwanda is demonstrating clearly through effective communication of development results and impact, the value added of One UN presence in Rwanda.

We have created a trifold that provides a neat summary of UNDAP II, click here to read.

UNDAP II builds on the successes of the last cycle. To find out about the key achievements from UNDAP II’s predecessor – UNDAP I (2013-2018) – click here.

Lastly, to view the UNDAP II document in full, click here:


The Sustainable Development Goals in Rwanda

The Sustainable Development Goals are a global call to action to end poverty, protect the earth’s environment and climate, and ensure that people everywhere can enjoy peace and prosperity. These are the goals the UN is working on in Rwanda: